You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mierke Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2012 08:28 AM Title: Index

This was really good! I like the idea of looking at different characters during the battle; so many people were effected by the war, in so many ways.

My favourite stories were Luna's (so very in character: "They should remember that a Crumple-horned Snorkack is harmless unless its home or family is threatened") and the story about fatality no. 36.

Goyle's story was painfully hard to read.

I love the idea of Codename Seas; of Colin being so (in)famous no one even refers to him by name.

My favourite line from this fic is Neville's: "It was second nature to me, because with Harry missing, someone had to do it. I wondered if Harry had the doubts and worries I did." So perfectly Neville.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This story is the foundation on which I've built all of my other "after the battle" stories. Lavender, Susan, Terry, and OC's like Polly Protheroe, Mark Moon, and Aloysius Webb all appear in my other sories. Luna's chapter was a lot of fun to write, in fact all of her appearances were fun to write. It you want to find out more about fatality 36, you should read Fred and George's Busy Day, and you can find out more about Colin in Summer of '97. I found Goyle's story hard to write, but it had to be done. And if you're interested in more Neville stuff, there is Mistletoe Kisses and The Professor and His Landlady. Neville is a hero, but that doesn't stop him worrying. -N-

Reviewer: HKWMAR271997 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/15/2012 09:54 AM Title: Index

I really love this chapter JKR never gives to much information about Madame Pince however most readers don't have a very favorable opinion of her. I must say though reading this chapter made me reconsider my negative feelings towards her.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.

Madam Pince is a librarian, I think that she loves her books more than the little monsters who read then, but that doesn't make her a bad person. :-)

-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/17/2012 08:30 PM Title: The Calm Before

Hi Again,

I think I ran into HPFF when I first began reading and writing fanfiction.  And I remember telling my friend that a lot of the stories seemed to be written by 13 year old girls.  (Ron said, "Mum, can I go visit Hermione?"  "Yes Ron, you can go."  Hermione's room had a blue ceiling with white clouds painted on it and a CD player.)  I wasn't sure if the child was describing her own room or her dream room.  I don't mean to poke fun; she was writing, and that is what is important.  But I was happy to locate sites with more mature writing, themes and plots.

Annemarie

 

 



Author's Response:

Annemarie

:-D

There is a lot of that. And a lot of “’Gee, Mom” said Hermione as she wolfed down her breakfast pancakes and syrup’ Americanisms, too. But, as you say, it’s important to write. There are some good writers and a lot of reviewers (and readers), too. However it is also the site where I was corrected in a review for spelling realize as realise and one reviewer told me that my habit of using ‘Speech marks’ instead of the correct “Speech marks” made my story unreadable. We really are two cultures separated by a shared language!

-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/16/2012 09:36 PM Title: Index

Dear Neil,

 

I am so happy you included Irma.  Librarians are a very misunderstood lot (sort of like dragons).  You have really humanized her, rescuing her from a rather small, two dimentional existance.  And you used a bunch of words I don't know, causing me to dust off the big dictionary on the special table in our library and expanding my vocabulary.  (One of my early career goals was librarian, after I realized that I was too tall to be a balletrina and that archeologists spent most of there time digging in dirt in hot weather.  Then I discovered that being a librarian wasn't just about reading books and recommending them to other readers.  So for the past 24 years I've been a probation officer.  But I degress ...)

Thanks for a wonderful set of beautiful stories.  I'm not aware of HPFF, but they lost a fanstatic writer when they banned you.  I'm just happy that you found this site, and that I found you.

 

Annemarie



Author's Response:

Annemarie

Thanks for the review. I decided to close with Irma Pince simply because she appeared in the very first chapter. Her story flowed rapidly once I’d made that decision. She is the “matron of books” and using her allowed me to tie up some loose ends and leave others awaiting other stories. It also allowed me to use words like threnody and condign, which I’d normally avoid. I tell people that my motto for my writing is “Eschew ostentatious sesquipedalian circumlocution”. That statement is probably not as funny as I think it is.  :-D

HarryPotterFanfiction is a huge site; the majority of readers (and writers) appear to be teenage girls (I fail to qualify in either category). I’ve since discovered several writers who’ve been banned. Most, like me, are older and male. I miss the reads and reviews and I miss a lot of the more mature (in outlook) members. The HPFF rules seemed odd to me. Any mention of alcohol (for example proud fathers Ron and Harry meeting in a pub) require a substance abuse warning, simply because they are drinking beer. Next, more Grave Days and Centuries, some one shots, and something else.

Neil

Reviewer: sam364 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/13/2012 08:14 PM Title: Index

Fantastic, well-written story.  I never read the original, but thank you for taking the time to rewrite it.  It's unfortunate that you were banned for questioning the site admin's new rule, so I hope you find other communities in addition to this one to post your work.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review. The challenge accepted 500+ words stories. The original versions were written, reread, corrected and posted. They desperately needed rewriting.

-N-

Reviewer: TrixieBerry13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/13/2012 06:01 PM Title: The Calm Before

I must say that I have enjoyed reading your story. Thank you for writing it.

Author's Response:

Thnk you. Now that the battle is over I will now be concentrating on Grave Days.

-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2012 10:23 PM Title: Paperwork (Fatality No. 36)

Oh wow, this is a very different chapter.  I hope Bekki and her father resolve their differences and become a family again.

Author's Response:

Thanks again.

I was trying to be different. I think that they will.

-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2012 11:05 PM Title: Ouroboros

She certainly is a coniving woman, isn't she.

 

I always thought it ironic that Harry was protected twice from Voldemort's death curse by women actingin their son's behalfs.

 

Please tell me there are more stories to come.



Author's Response:

I wrote this to determine Narcissa’s motives. I was surprised how calculating (and to some extent selfless) she was.

There are still two chapters before this collection ends.

-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2012 10:50 PM Title: Snakeslayer

Oh what a wonderful chapter.  It's nearly 1:00 am and I have to work tomorrow, but I can't stop reading. 

Author's Response: It’s about Neville, so it’s bound to be wonderful :-D
In my opinion anyone who doesn’t like Neville misses the entire point of the Harry Potter books.
-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2012 10:41 PM Title: Son of the Air

Go Buckbeak!  Wow, you're including everyone, aren't you?  Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Not quite everyone.

There will be 25 chapters: 12 about DA members (4 each from Gryffindor, Hufflepuff and Ravelclaw); 4 about Original Characters (all of whom have/will appear in my other stories); 3 about Slytherin pupils; 2 about Hogwarts staff (but no professors); a Quidditch player, a granny, a mother and a Hippogriff.

-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2012 10:26 PM Title: Worn Out Boot

Wow, you really bring Terry to life.  Until now he was just a name in a book.  You gave him dimension.

Author's Response: Thank you. Terry (or Auror Boot) is a character who will appear in some of my other stories.
-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2012 10:17 PM Title: Die Dumb

I always wondered how Crabbe and Goyle were allowed back to school after their fifth year.  Don't you have to pass a certain number of OWLs to be allowed to progress?  They were both as dumb as a sack of hair (to use a Texas expression).

Author's Response: They weren’t clever enough to get into NEWT level potions, I don’t remember seeing them in Transfiguration, either. They did, however, excel at Dark Arts.
-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2012 10:11 PM Title: Bad Faith

Have I ever told you that Charlie is my favorite Weasley man?  JK doesn't give us many details about him, so it leaves the field wide open to us fanfic writers and readers.

 

You capture Draco perfectly - callow, cowardly, selfserving, and weak.



Author's Response: Charlie is something of an enigma. I’ve seen a lot of fanfics where he’s some kind of sex god. My Charlie is a bit more down to earth. I see him as a bit like Arthur, but with a fascination for Dragons, not Muggles. I agree with Ron, Draco is a git.
-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2012 09:45 PM Title: Justin Time

Oh Justin, Colin would have found a way to Hogwarts no matter what.  Don't blame yourself. 

Author's Response: I’m sure that you are correct, but Justin would blame himself.
-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2012 09:40 PM Title: Abbot Ails

Oh Hannah, what a wonderful young woman you have become.

Author's Response:

I’m a big fan of Hannah, as "The Hufflepuff" shows. :-D


-N-

You must login (register) to review.