Reviews For Picking It Up
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: gateway_chuck Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/28/2012 09:10 PM Title: Chapter 1: Falling Back Into You

This is one helluva great story! Hope you write more Harry/Ginny story with plenty of chapters. RT with a heart. I love it!

Reviewer: juice14 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2009 07:49 AM Title: Chapter 7: Hope Returned

Fantastic story! You meshed the feelings of body and soul together. Very tender moments between H/G, great work!

Reviewer: Seersha Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/25/2009 12:32 PM Title: Chapter 1: Falling Back Into You

I loved this story so much! It was fantastic... it was great to get an insight into Harry and Ginny's relationship. Beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. It was a lot of fun to write.

Reviewer: rhillery14113 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/30/2009 03:02 AM Title: Chapter 1: Falling Back Into You

I loved the story so much. Its one the best that i have read. i hope you keep writing.

Author's Response: Thanks.

Reviewer: RedHeadGin Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/28/2009 09:12 AM Title: Chapter 1: Falling Back Into You

Excellent first chapter. I like your writing style. Although I thought Harry couldn't have been as eloquent as you wrote him, but since this is fanfic, I do understand.

 H/G is a beautiful pairing, they so fit together like gloves, too bad it's getting lots of wanks from people who favored other ships.



Author's Response: I do find it funny how people who like other ships manage to find every reason to dig at this ship. Thank you very much for your review.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2009 09:46 AM Title: Chapter 6: Snap Shot

I loved the clock hand the very best!  That was so moving!

Author's Response: I always wished that was in the book. So I wrote it myself.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2009 08:53 AM Title: Chapter 5: Becoming a First Time Godparent

Nice chapter!  I was especially touched by the interaction between Ron and Ginny.



Author's Response: Thank you very much. Sometimes I fell like people forget their siblings so I had to put a good moment in for them.

Reviewer: gaj1206 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2009 09:47 PM Title: Chapter 1: Falling Back Into You

I just came across this story for the first time, so I feel lucky that I got to read all 4 chapters at once. Can't wait to read more. This really is a great story.

1. If you haven't done so already, I hope you will be doing a story of this nature from Ron and Hermione's perspective. I'd love to read that.

2. My favorite thing about this story is that it's one of the few post-battle stories I've read in which you've allowed the trio to do nothing except rest and gather themselves for a few days. They certainly deserve it, and I love how they got to shop for themselves and Grimmauld place, go swimming, and generally do what they want. Again, GREAT story! 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you very much. Having a vacation after saving the world should be a normal thing.

 

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2009 02:44 PM Title: Chapter 4: Price of Purchase

Thanks for another great chapter.  Reading "posthumously" after some of the awards was sad.  You're doing a fine job portraying the closeness of all the relationships in this story.  The platonic and romantic relationships both come across as very sincere.  I liked the playfulness by the lake, and enjoyed seeing the Weasley boys bring Harry the rest of the way into the family.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reviewing. I just read both of them and they make me very happy. I love getting reviews like yours.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2009 01:07 PM Title: Chapter 3: Hoping to Remember, Praying to Forget

This is the third time I've read this chapter.  I just looked at the reviews and was shocked to see that I haven't reviewed it yet.  (I have four children.  I must have been interupted!)  I do think it's a wonderful chapter.  I loved the send off for Fred.  He was definitely a person to be celebrated!

I think many people in a war situation must think of how they'd like to be remembered if they didn't survive.  I like that you had Fred do that, and that he thought to write notes to the important people in his life.  The notes were very moving. 

Speaking of emotional things, it's widely believed that many people react to funerals by seeking physical comfort.  It came across as very natural that Harry and Ginny would do the same.  I was especially touched by these lines, "It was Ginevra that spilled from his lips when he came. But it always was. It was a time he never once called out ‘Ginny’. He always said her name like it was a prayer"

That was beautiful!

Reviewer: MacBeth13 Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/15/2009 03:00 PM Title: Chapter 4: Price of Purchase

another great chapter! I loved the idea of swimming in the pond at the Burrow. It was nice the see Harry and Ron horsing around and acting juvenile for a bit. I think they both need that, especially Harry.  I think that you have the characters moving their relationship along at a pace that's right for them. You had a few typos but nothing too bad, just some missing letters and word switches. They don't detract away from the story too much. I can't wait to see what the girls will wear to the ball! I think the awards ceremony is a brilliant idea! Great job!

--Mac 



Author's Response: Thank you very much. It was a fun.hard chapter to right.

Reviewer: MacBeth13 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/08/2009 06:05 PM Title: Chapter 1: Falling Back Into You

Wow, that was a really good first chapter, it was a really great chapter period, actually. The flow was great and your ability to draw out the right emotions is wonderful. I think it was a good decision to have them wait in the physical aspect of their relationship intil they heal. I think it was cute the way you had Ginny remember the little things like how Harry liked to sleep without a shirt and how she took enjoyment out of the smell of him when he is freshly showered. I really liked how you added that bit about Harry smelling that flowery scent on ginny that he smelled in the Amortentia. Really good job!

Reviewer: JohnGalt Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 04/27/2009 07:06 PM Title: Chapter 2: Picking up the Pieces

Wow. I should be studying for a biochem test. Instead I'm reading this.

 No regrets though, it's incredible. You captured the characters so well. I look forward to finishing it.

-JG

Reviewer: dkhpfan Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2009 06:45 AM Title: Chapter 1: Falling Back Into You

Beautifully written first chapter...a very believable first night after the battle.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/09/2009 05:22 PM Title: Chapter 2: Picking up the Pieces

Wow.  I wouldn't have guessed you were a teenager.  In fact, I'd say that the fact that you did not have our favorite couples tumble right into sexcapades is one of the very reasons I'dve guessed you were older.  (I'm 42.  When I was a teenager, many of my friends would have immediately wanted to write those bits.  Even if they didn't have a clue what it was all about .  smiling)  So, nice work.

I like the restraint your characters are showing.  I agree with you that these four people have more going on than some highschool age hookups.  They've known eachother and been friends for so long, they're in this for the long haul.  And I think they certainly would want the intimacy and reassurance of sharing beds.  Perhaps that will lead to more, but I think that will come when the time is right.  It wouldn't happen right away.  They have big things to get over.  It's time for them to heal.  (I just looked up and saw that you said exactly that.  smiling  See?  I really do agree with you!)

I loved the no nonsense way that Arthur passed out the information he had available.  That was very practical, and in the middle of everything, having him toss out Fred's instructions regarding Ron's feelings for Hermione was a great touch.  It lightened things up exactly the way the twins normally would do themselves. 

The Weasleys' choice to celebrate Fred more than to mourn him is wonderful.  That attitude suits their family.  (I'm sorry that you lost your cousin, but I'm glad that your family is teaching you that celebrating the life led is important.)

Thanks for sharing your work.  I'm enjoying this very much.



Author's Response: I was blown away by your review. It was one of the best i have even gotten. Thank you very much for responding to my work. It means a lot of me to hear such great things from a reader. I really hope you keep reviewing because I love to read them. This is an 8 chapter story so I hope you enjoy the rest.

You must login (register) to review.