Reviews For Rubric Moments
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/13/2012 12:53 AM Title: Chapter Two: Water, Women and Woad

Oh I like this chapter a lot.  Shades of The Mists of Avalon.  Very nice.

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/13/2012 12:52 AM Title: Chapter Two: Water, Women and Woad

Oh I like this chapter a lot.  Shades of The Mists of Avalon.  Very nice.

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/13/2012 12:13 AM Title: Chapter Two: Water, Women and Woad

Oh I like this chapter a lot.  Shades of The Mists of Avalon.  Very nice.

Reviewer: Jennifer Esther Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2011 09:53 AM Title: Chapter Eleven: Superfluence, Celebration and Chagrin

i absolutely loved the part about Snape causing chaos.

Reviewer: velaro Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/07/2008 08:38 PM Title: Chapter Eight: Morning, Misery and Misgivings

Just came across some info on ţuică de-a-ntâia: "This is considered toxic due to the impurities from the distillation process (from the fruit or from the inner walls of the boiling tank) and is generally kept as sanitary alcohol." Trying to poison them, are you?

Great story, though. :D 



Author's Response:

The bit about it being toxic has been added to wikipedia since I wrote the story; It used to just say it was the strongest kind with the highest proof. I'll probably go through and edit this story accordingly, changing the name to ţuică de-a doua, the next strength down. Thanks for letting me know. I tried as best I could to be accurate, but considering I only had online sources for reference, things like that do creep in.

Thank you for reading! I'm glad you liked it. :)

Reviewer: jocelynsmama Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2008 09:35 AM Title: Chapter Twelve: Revelations, Restraint and Resolution

I was so eager to read every chapter of this story!  I loved every word of it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading, and for your enthusiastic comments! Feedback really is what writers survive on, and knowing that someone likes what you've done with a particular character, scene or story enough to tell you about it is very gratifying. :)

Reviewer: laurac Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/17/2008 10:34 PM Title: Chapter Eleven: Superfluence, Celebration and Chagrin

Great, great chapter.  The picture - awesome, first time I've seen one in a fanfic!  A little Ron/Harry chemistry, interrupted by magic shooting stars & fireworks, then wrap it all up with the Tale of Snape.... great original ideas & very unpredicable.

Author's Response:

I actually used pictures in Chapter Three, as well, so I didn't have to describe Bryn Celli Ddu, and to show what an astrolabe was. And Chapter Four had a fabulous bit of art, created for me by dindalay.

Writing about fireworks vs shooting stars was a LOT of fun, and of course was drawn from canon. We know that Dedalus Diggle set off shooting stars in Kent when Voldemort was vanquished the first time (hence why the trio are camping out in Kent) but also that wizards love fireworks, which are a Muggle invention, based on simple chemistry. I liked theorising about why and how fireworks got popular, when the shooting stars spell is free, and simple to perform, if you've got a wand. Because fireworks are new, and flashy, and Muggle-origin, I can see them being popular amongst the younger generation, whereas older wizards like Ron's Uncle Bilius and Dedalus Diggle would prefer the spell, because of nostalgia, but also because of distrust of newer, Muggle-based things that have the potential to injure. This whole section also gave me a chance to write clever!Ron again. Though Hermione's good for facts and figures about important things, and obscure bits of history, there are big gaps in her knowledge of everyday things in the magical world. The shooting stars spell, because it's not 'useful', probably isn't taught at Hogwarts, but a child raised in a magical household, like Ron, would know of it and recognise it, even if he hasn't cast it himself.

The idea of Snape being the slayer of Voldemort came to me very, very early, back when this story was going to be a short one-shot. I had the first sentence of this chapter written back when it was only a couple of thousand words long, and I just had to keep tabbing it down more and more, as this story grew and grew. I loved the idea of Harry, rather than being relieved, being indignant that someone else fulfilled his destiny, and there's absolutely nothing he can do about it. He's done all the hard work, running around destroying Horcruces, and Snape has swooped in at the last moment and stolen all the glory.

Reviewer: jenngrint Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/14/2008 03:32 PM Title: Chapter Ten: Artifice, Armistice and Allure

That's great!!!! Perfect chapter. Can't wait for more of this. You have me hooked.

Author's Response: The last two chapters will most likely go up tomorrow, and then Friday. I hope you like the big finish!

Reviewer: jenngrint Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2008 10:02 AM Title: Chapter Nine: Peasants, Presents and Payback

That was awesome! I can't wait for more the next chapter. I'm so anxious about what's going on between Harry and Ron. It seems that Ron still cares a great deal about Hermione, but it's obvious that he loves Harry. I'm hooked. Keep it coming!

Author's Response: Ron's not going to stop caring about Hermione just because they had a falling out. They had a long and tempestuous friendship before they got together, and they've mended it many a time. That said, there is definite chemistry between himself and Harry. It's a turning point, and he has to decide what (and who) he wants, and in what way.

Reviewer: jocelynsmama Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2008 07:33 AM Title: Chapter Nine: Peasants, Presents and Payback

I thoroughly enjoyed this chapter!  Your characterization of Charlie is, I think, spot on!  He's definitely one of my favorite Weasleys for reading about in fanfic!

Author's Response: I'd never written Charlie before, and I didn't have to work at all - he wrote himself! He does bear a little resemblance to David Tennant's Doctor Who. He has that same, cheerful, manic energy in situations of danger, like when they were out setting the lure, but in other ways, he's very different. I liked making a real bond between Ron and Charlie. There are quite a few fics that have a strong Ron/Bill relationship, but not so many Ron/Charlie ones. Charlie's doing a highly-skilled and dangerous job, and he's also an excellent Quidditch player. I figured there would be a lot of respect there, and probably a touch of hero worship on Ron's part, whereas Charlie sees his brother's strength and respects Ron's abilities more than Ron does himself. Charlie loves his little brother for many reasons, but some of the main ones would no doubt be his loyalty (to his friends, family and team), his innate courage and his good heart.

Reviewer: jenngrint Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/08/2008 07:57 AM Title: Chapter Eight: Morning, Misery and Misgivings

Awesome, can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you! So long as my net connection holds up, the rest should go up over the next week.

Reviewer: jenngrint Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/07/2008 07:26 PM Title: Chapter Seven: Triumph, Tickling and Touching

You totally have me hooked and I can't wait for more.

Jenn 



Author's Response: Thank you! The next part will be up ASAP. It's all complete; I've just had some internet connection troubles the last few days.

Reviewer: laurac Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2008 12:20 AM Title: Chapter Seven: Triumph, Tickling and Touching

Your description of the growth & explosion of Harry's climax in this chapter is massively sexy & really satisfying.  Hot, hot stuff.

Author's Response: Thank you! It had to be hot, but also kind of dizzying at the same time, because both of them are more than a little bit drunk, and neither of them is really wanting to think too much about what they're doing. It's very instinctive, despite the fact that Ron's 'planned' this to a degree. There wasn't going to be declarations of love on either of their parts, or marathon perfect sex, because they're seventeen and drunk and horny. A quick but nonetheless mind-blowing frot that probably took under five minutes was all they were up for. :)

Reviewer: jocelynsmama Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/01/2008 11:18 AM Title: Chapter Five: Sickness, Strategy and Snuggling

I absolutely LOVE the last line of this chapter!  It made me laugh out loud!

Author's Response: Yes, poor Harry. When you're seventeen, horny, and the object of your lust affection is attached to you like a limpet, you've kind of got to accept the inevitable side effects.

Reviewer: muggle_mom Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2008 04:05 PM Title: Chapter Four: Comfort, Confessions and Conflict

More please?

Author's Response: I've finished writing the series, and I'm posting a chapter every day or two, so that people have a chance to read each one before the new one goes up. There are eight more to go, and I hope you enjoy them!

You must login (register) to review.