You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: risiepookie Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2007 11:27 AM Title: Chapter 10

Oh, God, that's so tragic!  What a great, original idea, but how horribly heart-wrenching!  Lovely chapter as always, my dear.  ::hugs::

Author's Response:

I'm glad you got caught up!   As I've said in other posts, the story's not all original (I don't want to take full credit!), but pretty much all of chapter 10 is.

Reviewer: chudley01 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2007 10:48 AM Title: Chapter 12

I really like this and hope you update soon!!!

Reviewer: leia Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/19/2007 01:32 PM Title: Chapter 12

omg, so did that break the spell on the whole family?update soon!!

Author's Response: Update is coming soon!  It's with my beta, Mench, ready to put in the qeue.

Reviewer: sillysun Anonymous starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/19/2007 09:21 AM Title: Chapter 11

I'm really enjoying this - it's a unique concept. I'll look forward to the next update!


Author's Response:

I'm glad you're enjoying it.  Some of the concept (Harry with Marie Therese, the girl being pledged to an older, horrid man, the rose ceremony, the character of Marie Therese) aren't original - they're from the opera that I mentioned in my A/N in chapter 1.  But the spells and such were things I came up with in order to merge these two canons.  Next update coming soon!

Reviewer: Emily Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/18/2007 12:41 PM Title: Chapter 11

Oh this story is wonderful!! Please keep updating, I can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! 12 and 13 should be ready soon. It's only 19 chapters long (plus epilogue), so I guess I shouldn't rush it too quickly!

Reviewer: zebraspots05 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/18/2007 07:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oops-forgot to mention I am here by way of Redblazes' rec.

Author's Response: Ooh, she said she'd be pimping it for me. R/Hr will definitely be making an appearance - more Hr than R, though. Chapters 12 and 13 will be in the qeue shortly!

Reviewer: zebraspots05 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/18/2007 07:46 AM Title: Chapter 1

Intriguing opening.  I don't know Opera, but it has the makings of a classic story..love triangles, cougars and nasty relatives. Very curious how you will bring Ginny into it.  (and will Ron and Hermoine be making an appearance)

Reviewer: Feist Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/17/2007 01:45 PM Title: Chapter 11

Yes! I knew it would be Ginny who got arranged to marry Sebastian

Author's Response: Heh heh. I had to get her in there somehow. More soon!

Reviewer: leia Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/17/2007 01:30 PM Title: Chapter 11

i sat down a read all 11 chapters, great ideal for a story. update soon

Reviewer: Annalese Anonymous starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2007 02:18 PM Title: Chapter 9

I think your story is very good.   Your writing is very descriptive and your plot is original.  However, I can't tell if you want us (the readers) to like and feel sorry for Marie Therese??  Right now,  I kind of see her a a bored, rich woman who is taking advantage of a vulnerable young man who is so happy to be having sex with a experienced lover that he does things out of character, like sleeping with a married woman.  I don't feel sorry for her; she chose her life and I would hate Ginny to only get Harry because she "graciously" gives him up.  The maturity difference between an 18 year old and a 35 year old is enormous and I can't help but view it as a bit sleazy.  But, I love that you made Harry multi-dimentional, so many writers make him too perfect and without flaws.  It is a nice change of pace.  Also, I don't follow your plot as to why Hermione waited so long to reveal the charm?  If I were Ginny I would find it hard to forgive her.  Because of her delay Harry turned to someone else to help him through a difficult time when it should have been Ginny.  Hermione's reasons for doing so don't quite convince me.  Hermione has always been the moral leader of the group, I can't imagine her supporting and encouraging an extramarital affair that can only end in Harry getting hurt.   Why would she do something that will so hurt Ginny, her alleged best friend?  Now with Ginny's forced engagment the plot really thickens!  Can't wait to read more   



Author's Response: I’m glad you’re enjoying the story, and I can certainly understand your concerns about Marie Therese, and about the motivations for her actions and those of Harry and Hermione. One part of my answer is that there will be more clarification soon, but the other part is more complicated. First, Marie Therese is not an original character. She is borrowed from the opera that I referenced in my fist author’s note. I fell in love with her when I first saw the opera because she is a flawed character who is both selfish and noble at the same time, which is the way that most of us are. We may _want_ to act in the best interests of others, but sometimes we can’t help putting our own needs first, unfortunately. She’s also a product of a time when wealthy nobles had multiple affairs and loveless marriages. And that’s how I envisioned the wealthy purebloods in JKR’s world. Second, the basic plot line in this story is also borrowed from the opera, so her role and her relationship with Harry parallel that story (so if you want to know how this story ends, then you’ll have to figure out which opera!) and my plot bunny told me that I had to stick with it. Marie Therese is also a reflection of how some marriages work. That is, some couples have open marriages, while others have tacit agreements that they can have affairs. Her marriage is flawed, but she’s making the best of it she can. And when it came to Harry, whe just happened to fall in love with someone who she probably shouldn’t be with (but at 17 he’s legal in the wizarding world). As for Harry, what 17 year (almost 18) year old boy – one who had been to hell and back – wouldn’t want to fall into bed with an attractive older woman? (I’m glad you used the word ‘sleazy’ and not ‘creepy’!) But I’m glad that you’ll keep reading. Maybe it’ll get more acceptable as the story goes on. And if not, oh well, it’s only fiction! :) Sorry for such a long response, but these were issues that I was concerned would come up and I wanted to address them. Thanks for your quesions!

Reviewer: weselan Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2007 08:35 PM Title: Chapter 10

Ahhh.. Nice explanation about why Harry and Ginny's feelings are at odds to how they were in HBP. I just hope that Hermione isn't included in the familias part of the spell. 

Reviewer: weselan Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2007 04:47 AM Title: Chapter 9

Hello. I found your story through a rec on LiveJournal (hg_daily). Very interesting so far, and I look forward to see where the story goes. I hope chapter 10 isn't too far away. 

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear that it's being rec'd! Chapter 10 is up and 11 isn't far behind. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Feist Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2007 09:07 PM Title: Chapter 9

I just wanted to say that I am very interested in your story and I like it alot. :) Though I haven't yet figured out which opera its based on. I'm not much of an opera person. Can't wait to figure out what Hermione knows ;)

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you like it!  There are some more intriguing plot twists coming, and chapter 10 is in the queue.  I really don't expect too many people to guess the opera since it's not a very well known one and there aren't a lot of opera buffs out there. But it's set in Vienna in 18th/19thcentury, and that's where the character of Marie Therese and all of her Viennese affectations come from (nope, she's not mine either!).

Reviewer: risiepookie Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2007 07:53 PM Title: Chapter 9

Ooooo, nice twist at the end.  I'm looking forward to seeing how that pans out.  I do hope you start to get some more reviews- I know it's really hard when it feels like people aren't responding to something you've worked really hard on.  When I first started writing, I had maybe one or two reviews and it was disheartening a bit, but it picked up.  Hang in there! 



Author's Response: Yeah, I was beginning to wonder if anyone was reading (helloooooo.... anyone out there???). But 5 people have added this to their favorites list, so I figured there were at least 5 readers! I think that QP readers just don't leave as many reviews as other sites. And that's too bad because it's always good to get feedback - positive and negative. I've started leaving more reviews since I started posting this one. Thanks for chiming in!

Reviewer: risiepookie Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2007 07:33 PM Title: Chapter 6

thank heavens he's all right- I knew you couldn't kill him off, but I was worried about his mental state.  So, the H/MT relationship started as comfort?  Somehow, I can see that happening.  Okay, 3 more chapters to go before I'm caught up...

You must login (register) to review.