You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/11/2008 09:14 AM Title: Chapter 3

This is a fun story, so far.  I'm looking forward to finishing it.  (I'll admit to reading too quickly and getting Stephan and Sebastian mixed up.  I was reading along thinking, How can he get married if he's already married?  That'll teach me not to pay enough attention to details!)

It's kind of refreshing to see an author who's not afraid to refer to the un-PC prejudice of days gone by.  Just because it wasn't nice or pretty doesn't mean it didn't exist.  (My own mother-in-law, with whom I had a wonderful relationship until her death, told her son that she'd rather he brought home anyone but a Catholic.  Lucky for all of us, she changed her tune when she met me and my huge Catholic family!  smiling)



Author's Response:

I'm glad you're enjoying it.  I admit that it can be a bit confusing if you don't read closely.  I liked how JRK addressed many prejudices in her writing, and I tried to reflect them in this story.  Unfortunately, they never seem to go away, they just re-emerge in different forms.  

 

Let me know what you think when you finish the story!

Reviewer: BrandedFaithfully Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2008 01:21 PM Title: Epilogue

Very cute.  Neat idea on using the opera.  Good work!  I like the little "twist" in the epilogue.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it!  Thanks for sticking with it until the end.  Have you read the prequel and sequel (Black Roses and White Roses)?  

Reviewer: BrandedFaithfully Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2008 12:24 PM Title: Chapter 14

Oh my gosh, I feel a bought of hysterical laughter coming on...

Author's Response: Hee. I enjoyed leaving that little cliffhanger there.

Reviewer: BrandedFaithfully Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2008 11:55 AM Title: Chapter 12

Yes, this started a bit odd, but I saw your comments and stuck with it.  Very interesting and I can't wait to see what happens next!



Author's Response: Thanks for sticking with it.  I know it's a bit off the beaten path, but I got a bunny and I had to follow the bunny.  

Reviewer: risiepookie Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2007 11:38 AM Title: Epilogue

Hey B!

So, it's finally finished!!  I'm so sad to have it end, but you must have such a sense of accomplishment to have completed it!!!  I really enjoyed the epilogue.  It was just enough to give us a taste of how things had been resolved, without giving too much detail or getting  bogged down in the nitty-gritty of the past couple months.

I really liked this line: 

**“We both had reasons to break it off and we didn’t have lingering doubts. I do miss him, but I’m not yearning for him. Do you know what I mean?” she asked, pulling away and looking at him.**

It's nice to read the realistic part of a relationship ending.  If you truly love someone, but it just doesn't work out, of course there will be some level of missing the other person.  The yearning goes away with time, but the care and love will probably always be there if the love was strong.  It was such a simple, but lovely line to show that!!!

And, of course, I'm so glad to see that Marie Therese is not alone in the end.  She was a lovely character and to have her be with someone else who cannot commit in the traditional way either was a great idea.  I wouldn't have thought about her and Lupin, but as soon as I read it, it made sense. 

Great job and congratulations on finishing your piece!!!  ::hugs::  ~Risie~  :o)



Author's Response:

Thanks, Risie, for being such a great reviewer!  You were my very first reviewer too! Yes, I was sad to end it, but my first sequel is up and the next is coming soon. I really wanted to portray the messy reality of relationships  - that feelings and relationships can overlap, that it's often impossible to make a clean break, and that you can remain friends in some cases.

 

I like writing about non-traditional relationships.  There are a lot out there and I think it's good to show them in fan fic once in a while - that happily ever after isn't always so cut and dry.  Keep an eye out for another story from me on this topic. And I loved the idea of Marie Therese and Remus together (and that's why I had to kill off Tonks - sorry!!). They may not be together for long, but as long as they're both available (to some degree), why not let them have a little bit of fun?  I'm going to do some follow-up stories with her and I'll decide how long I'll let them be together. There are a lot more fish in the sea for both characters!  :)

 

Thanks for all of your great reviews!!

*Hugs*

Reviewer: Quidditch3 Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2007 03:43 PM Title: Epilogue

BRAVO, BRAVO, BRAVO!  Loud clapping *Take a bow *, it was a wonderful trip.  I understand your muse and inspiration to write this and it was lovely.  I should have guessed that Remus was the next bloke!!!!!!!  I was still plesantly surprise --really!!!!!!!!   I thought that the wedding added a nice touch to the ending with Ginny and Harry moving on in their lives and accepting Therese as a friend.  It's funny to have such an insatiable appetite for more but when the end comes it feels bittersweet.  Good luck with your future writing endeavors.

Author's Response: Oh, I'm so happy that you liked it! I'm glad that you liked the surprise. MT needed another fling to take her mind off Harry, and who better than Remus? Keep your eyes open for my two follow-on stories - 'White Roses' and 'Black Roses', both following MT on new adventures (but still following the lives of our favorite canon characters). I have a few plot bunnies for some others down the road too. Thanks for reading and being such a great reviewer!

Reviewer: Kathryn Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 03/21/2007 01:45 PM Title: Chapter 18

First, I'd like to give you props for trying something different. This was an unusual premise and took a few of our favorite canon characters in interesting directions, to say the least.

I'm an H/G shipper and that was part of the draw of the story for me: the knowledge that they'd end up together at the end of it all. That being said I was actually disappointed that the story didn't end with them parting ways with a hope that maybe they'd be together someday.

The end just felt too forced. Ginny had only just found out that the sole love of her life had found love elsewhere. I didn't expect her to be angry. No one was really at fault. But it still should have been more of a blow especially since she had to witness Harry's hesitation over who he wanted and his pleading with Therese who pretty much made the decision for him. Then when Ginny asked him if he loved Therese he point blank answered that he did. It's all a bit much for anyone to take in all at once much less process. Which is why I liked that Ginny said they'd need to get to know each other again. But then it was rendered moot as she and Harry kissed heatedly and fell into bed just a scant few lines later.

Harry's declaration to Ginny about how he'd thought of marrying her rang sort of hollow since those feelings were pre-Therese. They didn't take into account that he'd fallen hard for someone else and that only five minutes ago did not know what or who he wanted. It didn't ring true that he was telling Ginny she was his heart. his life. That he couldn't live without her when he had no clue what he wanted a few minutes ago. I wish Ginny had told him they both needed time to sort out their feelings and decide what they really wanted.



Author's Response: I can certainly understand why you thought the ending was forced, as it WAS forced into fitting the story of the opera. At the end of Der Rosenkavalier, Sophie (Ginny) recognizes the relationship between Octavian (Harry) and Marie Therese – and the fact that the older woman is breaking up with him – but decides to give him a chance because they are in love. And what you thought was Harry hesitating about who to choose was actually him struggling with how to tell MT that he’d chosen Ginny. He was ineffectually pleading with her to understand, though he couldn’t discuss it with others in the room, and she kept stopping him every time he tried to say something to her. When talking with MT in the last scene, what looked like ambivalence was him not knowing how to tell her that he’d chosen Ginny. His noble streak made it difficult for him to hurt her, but he knew deep down what he wanted, and MT could see it and made the decision for him. This was crystal clear in my mind since I’ve been living with this story for a long time, but it must not have been to every reader. I was going for simplicity and subtlety but must have been too subtle. :) Thank you for your considered response. I hope you read the epilogue, coming soon.

Reviewer: risiepookie Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/18/2007 06:16 PM Title: Chapter 18

Oh, Beth, it's nearly done!!! 

I thought this was a nice chapter to resolve some things, while still allowing for everything to not be entirely settled.

Oh, and I loved this part:

*****Marie Therese put her hand under Hermione’s chin and tilted her head up to look into her eyes.

 

"You are a good friend, Hermione. You had a heavy burden to carry and you had everyone’s interests at heart," she said. “You did just fine.”*****

I had been thinking since the beginning that poor Hermione had been given the heavy burden of holding onto secrets and trying to do what was best for everybody.  It must have been so hard for her and I thought it was nice for you to give her that credit!

::hugs you::  Great job!  I'm so sad there's only an epilogue left, but it's always nice to see a fic come to a conclusion!  :o)



Author's Response:

I’m glad you liked it. I had a hard time with Hermione, explaining why she kept the memories secret for so long. It was necessary as a plot device, but then how to explain her motivations, knowing what she did about Harry and Ginny?  I figured that she saw Harry truly happy for the first time in his life; she saw that Marie Therese was helping him recover from the war in a way that Ginny couldn’t do – with her maturity, etc.; and she knew that it wouldn’t last – she thought it was a fling at first, so it was OK for a while, but then things just got away from her and she just couldn’t bring herself to change things. I think that’s the main message of this fic – that we’re all flawed, that we all make mistakes, even when we have people’s best interests at heart.  

Thanks for all of your wonderful reviews!

Reviewer: naty0452 Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/18/2007 08:54 AM Title: Chapter 18

Ahhh how cute I really enjoyed the story jejeje!!!!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! 

Reviewer: Quidditch3 Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/17/2007 07:43 PM Title: Chapter 18

That was so touching *signed*.  I really feel awful for Therese and Harry.  Therese has such a huge heart and a strong mind in letting Harry go.  I'm so happy that Ginny isn't jumping back into the relationship.  She level-headed and it makes sense to start dating again first.  She understanding, more then I am, to let Harry mend his heart.  I like how you wrote that ex-boyfriend part.  Ginny is so full of mischief . . . Hopefully she won't do anything while her parents are nearby.  Ron is so cute always hungry but so loveable.  I really did enjoy reading your fic and can't wait for the epilogue.  I hope there's a sequel of them dating again. 

Author's Response: I’m glad you liked it.  Marie Therese knew all along that she had to give Harry up and this was the right time to do it. I can see Ginny as feeling stuck – she wants Harry back, knows that he gave his heart to someone else, but he can’t fault them because of the memory spell, so she knows to give him time. But that won’t stop her from having a little bit of fun!  Thanks for sticking with it – the epilogue will be up soon!

Reviewer: Quidditch3 Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2007 04:18 PM Title: Chapter 17

Oh, you're wonderful, thanks for updating so quickly.  I don't know how to feel? Sad that its ending or happy to see how it ends.  It was so bittersweet to read about Therese past.  You did a beautiful job of developing her character, she is a strong and warm individual. 

However, I do hope you continue writing or maybe a sequel - hint - hint.  Now to my concerns about my favorite couple - h/g.  I still don't feel convince that Harry has gotten over Therese and I don't think it fair for Ginny to be a rebound.  I know their prior history and all but I think that maybe a sequel could be something along the line of them rebuilding their relationship or something in the last chapters about it.  Harry can't just go back to Ginny and feel OK about leaving Therese because you can see he still has feelings about her.  Ginny shouldn't accept Harry that way also because it would leave doubts about his true feelings about her.  I don't know what to say and not over do it.  I love your fic and the way it has brought out all these questions and feelings.  Oh well, your doing a great job!  Thanks!



Author's Response: I’m glad to see that you’re as torn as I am. I don’t want it to end either. But you’ll be happy to know that I have two follow-up stories already done and ready to beta once this is done. They’re one shots – one’s a prequel and the other is a sequel. They’re both from Marie Therese’s perspective but touch on the lives of our favorite canon characters. You’ll get more insight into her character and motivations. I hate to place so much focus on an OFC but I like looking at the canon world through her eyes. I’m glad that you like Marie Therese. I like the combination of generosity and selfishness that she displays. She’s an independent agent, but she cares deeply for people and wants to take care of them. I see her as a very realistic representation of how many of us are. And I understand your concerns about H/G. I’ll let you decide how I leave things with them. Let me know what you think, OK? Thanks for being such a loyal reviewer. I have appreciated all of your comments!

Reviewer: risiepookie Signed starstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2007 10:11 PM Title: Chapter 17

Hey there!  Oh, the end of this chapter was just heart-breaking!  Are you going to give us a translation for what she said to him? (or maybe I'll just email you later tonight and ask you ::wink::  perk of being your friend!) 

The emotion you got into these last several lines was astounding- my heart actually aches for all of them.  You did such a beautiful job! 

only 2 more chapters!  ::Risie sobs::  and ::big hugs:: 



Author's Response: I’m so glad you liked this chapter!  I worked really hard to get just the right emotional tone.  These chapters were my favorite to write.  They show the heartbreaking decisions that Marie Therese has to make and also the decisions that Harry has to make (though he’s already made them, I think).  Marie Therese knows that she has to do what’s right. It’s just doing them that’s the hard part.  Heute oder Morgen oder den übernächsten Tag was used and translated in chapter 2. It means today or tomorrow or the day after that.  Here’s how it was used in a conversation when she was telling Harry that he would end up leaving her: “Tomorrow, or the next day, or the day after that, you will find someone young and beautiful and you will get married and have lots of children. And I….” she paused, looking back out the window. “Well, I will get old and fat and wrinkled and will be ‘Auntie Therese’ to all of my friends’ kids and grandkids.” You pointing it out makes me realize that not everyone will remember it, so I should add the translation in the author’s notes at the end. The line is from the opera and is actually used a few times as a leitmotif.   

Yup, only two more to go.  *Sigh*  Thanks again for your wonderful reviews!

Reviewer: risiepookie Signed starstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2007 09:49 PM Title: Chapter 16

Hi Beth!  I'm both excited about the new chapters and sad, because I know the end is coming near! 

Ugh, Ochs.  You did such a wonderful job on making it come across just how creepy and nasty he is- he's such a piece of work! 

I'm glad that Marie Therese was back in this chapter!  I definitely hope that she can break the spell.  Of course, if she does, and if Harry ends up picking Ginny, then that would be particularly ironic: that she provided the spell that would save the H/G relationship and be the undoing of her own relationship. 

Wonderful chapter honey! 



Author's Response:

Yes, I’m sad too. I am hesitant to post chapter 18 because it’ll be the end (plus epilogue).

 

I wish I could claim Ochs, but he’s from the opera.  I envisioned him as a Ludo Bagman type but with the wealth and arrogance of Lucius Malfoy. He’s not evil, just a spoiled, clueless oaf.

 

Marie Therese's dilemma is at the heart of the whole story - she has to be selfless and make a couple of  decisions that will affect her happiness. She is a bit selfish when it comes to her heart, but she is, in the end, a generous person and wants to work for the benefit of others (aren't we all that way a bit?).

 

Thanks for your wonderful reviews!

Reviewer: risiepookie Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2007 09:30 PM Title: Chapter 15

Hey Beth!  Oh, I'm so glad to finally be back, so I can review the most recent chapters!  This one was fantastic!

"He knew he’d have to make a decision soon, and he wasn’t looking forward to hurting someone he cared about." 

What a nice way to phrase the decision he has coming up- true, he has to hurt somebody, and it is even more relevant because whomever he chooses, a loved one will lose. 

Oh, and this section was so cute- it gave me the giggles.

“Now Harry, don’t be nervous,” said Hermione. “You look dead sexy like that, by the way,” she said, grinning at her friend.

“It’s true, Harry. If I were just a few years younger…” Remus said wistfully, gazing at him with doe eyes before the two broke into giggles.

I'm still laughing!  Wonderful, my dear!  ::hugs::



Author's Response: Hi Risie! I’m so glad you’re back too!  I missed your wonderful reviews!  (and you too!) 

I’m glad you liked the chapter.  He was really torn, but he knew in his heart who he had to choose.  Though he didn’t want to hurt the other one, so even though his decision is made he doesn’t want to have to act on it.  Kind of reminded me of the cheesy Batchelor shows.  :)

 Yeah, I like Henrietta and everyone else’s reactions to her.  Especially Marie Therese (makes her want rethink her sexual preferences!).   Thanks for chiming in.  A big bowl of cookie dough ice cream for you!   (hee hee)

Reviewer: WendyinOH Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2007 06:13 PM Title: Chapter 17

Oh please don't make us wait for more.......  I am dying here!  Henrietta is such a SCREAM!  Poor Harry just won't catch a break will he?  (*hears the old song "Torn between two lovers" in the background*)

Author's Response: Hee hee.  Poor Harry -- two women in love with him. What's a boy to do?  And yeah, I love Henrietta, who unfortunately won't be making another appearance.  Thanks for chiming in!   

You must login (register) to review.