Reviews For If a Man Answers
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: lol1 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/12/2008 04:39 PM Title: Chapter 4 - Hearing Without Understanding

why the fuck did Hermione have to sleep with harry :(?! btw are u a r/hr shipper or h/hr?

Author's Response: Hi there!  I think that question is on a lot of people's minds.  If you'd like to read a couple outtakes from Hermione's POV to get some idea, feel free to friend my LJ.  :o)  BTW,  I'm R/Hr- all of my fics feature them and their relationship.  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  *peach pie for you*

Reviewer: Roisin Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/07/2008 12:51 PM Title: Chapter 1 - Finally Home

I read your story last night and the whole unresolved issues of where it is at the moment left me sleepless! I'm angry with Ron for leaving in the first place (and yes he should have th emajority of the guilt in my opinion!), Hermione for being able to switch between Harry and Ron (and will the girl ever make up her mind and just choose one!), Harry for giving Ginny up for Hermione (best friend notwithstanding) no matter what Ron asked him to do before he left, and Ginny for not figting for Harry harder.

Can there be a 'good' resolution for the four? Ideally I'd like to see Harry back with Ginny and Ron with Hermione, but I understand that's not how plot bunnies work. Has there been too much water under the bridge? Do Harry and Hermione have to make the final break form the Weasleys (if they are together) in order to be happy? Would another battle bring them together in ways up till now impossible? All these thoughts went through my mind between 1 - 3am this morning.

Thank you for your story - it really struck a chord in my imagination, and i can't wait for you to write more!



Author's Response:

Hi Roisin!  Thank you so much for reading and for leaving the fantastic review!  I think everything you're left feeling and thinking is very natural for where the story left off, because there has been no resolution yet.  I'm working my way toward there and I think there will be a few surprises still left before the dust settles, but don't worry.  Resolution and hopefully some happiness is on its way... you know, in the next several chapters anyway.  First we have to get through the confrontation and any fallout before the healing can begin! 

I'm beyond pleased to hear how much you resonated with my fic!  It's absolutely heart-warming to hear your thoughts and ponderings and I can't wait to hear what you think about the upcoming chapters.  I do hope one will be along soon.  My laptop hard drive crashed and everything was wiped, so I lost the most recent chapter I was working on.  I've been recreating it, but it's been a slow process.  Thanks for sticking with me and thanks again for the lovely review!  *white chocolate chip cookies for you*

Reviewer: misshogwarts1125 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/24/2007 07:45 PM Title: Chapter 8 - The Question Game

this is so heavy but so well written and enlightening on so many levels. keep up the good work.

Author's Response:

Hi Esther!  thank you so much for reading and for leaving the lovely review- I really appreciate it!  I am working on the next chapter, so hopefully I'll have something new fairly soon.  Thanks again!  *cinnamon dolce ice cream for you*

Reviewer: jeremyjames Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2007 03:48 PM Title: Chapter 8 - The Question Game

The question game!  I played that with my sister.  Funny back and forth.  The first real bits of humor we've seen in this fic.  Nice to see the continued development of Ron and Ginny's relationship.  Of course what I'm waiting for is that conversation between Ron, Hermione, and Harry, but this family time has been great.  this is the last chapter uploaded.  How often do you update?  Ginny's vulnerability and her stubbornness was very in-character.  Love that she also wanted to take the blame for Ron leaving.  Will we find that Harry is feeling the same?  I think so.  It works very well, and I like the different perspectives you're trying to give up through the converssations.  Can't wait for you to update the new chapter! 

Author's Response:

I think a lot of people have played this game with their siblings, friends, or significant others.  Yes, this was the first real humour in the entire fic- can you believe it took 8 chapters to get that?!  The different conversations are definitely my attempt to hear more people, despite the first person POV, so I'm glad you've enjoyed that.  Unfortunately, I don't update as often as I would like.  RL demands keep me from writing as much as I would prefer.  Additionally, I've had some horrible technology issues, including my hard drive crashing.  Everything was wiped and I lost the most recent chapter, so I've been having to recreate it.  It's been a slow process.  Still, I'm hoping an update won't be horribly far in the future.  Thank you again for all of your really lovely reviews!  I really, really appreciate the support and the feedback.  *black forest cake for you*

Reviewer: jeremyjames Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2007 03:32 PM Title: Chapter 7 - Rumination

Wow.  Wow.  Amazing.  So many things going on in this one chapter alone.  This is without a doubt the best chapter you have written on this fic so far.  I know I'll be reading it again.  And again.  The repetition of Ron's thoughts was great.  The relationship development with both Ginny and Molly was needed and perfect.  The emotions you could feel coming off the page was awesome.  The section with Molly in the garden was healing, again.  These past two chapters have been healing, even if they have focused on Ron's internal pain.  So great, I can't believe I've been sucked in quite like this.  Impressive. 

Author's Response: I'm actually blushing after reading your review!  What kind things to say and thank you so much for all of the absolutely awesome feedback!  I'm glad to see that you continued to resonate with my characterization of the various Weasleys.  It's been really nice to write about them and have some warmth in the fic.  One cannot survive on angst alone, eh?  Well, not entirely anyway...  Thank you again for your wonderful review!  I'm smiling ear to ear.  :o)  *chocolate motherlode cake for you*

Reviewer: jeremyjames Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2007 03:17 PM Title: Chapter 6 - A Real Homecoming

That was very healing to read.  I feel a bit better for Ron, knowing his family accepted him back with open arms.  I thought the part with Ron and Hermione at the beginning, with him realizing that being near her was both pleasure and pain was an important moment.  I think that will be key in the future.  Am I right?  Even if they get back together, it's going to be hard to forget everything that's happened between them.  Really liked the part with Molly and the rest of the Weasley family.  Hope we get to see more of them in the upcoming chapters. 

Author's Response: Another wonderful review!  I'm being spoiled!  I'm so happy you were able to resonate with the Weasley family; they are so lovely.  Yes, you are definitely right.  That's a key thing to look for in the coming chapters.  Thanks again for the lovely words- much appreciated!  *flan for you*

Reviewer: jeremyjames Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2007 03:00 PM Title: Chapter 5 - Memories of a Lifetime Ago

Another section with flashbacks.  You write flashbacks particularly well.  Did you know?  It's a really great contrast between the emotions and situations right now and what everything had been like in the past.  It makes for a powerful statement about how different everything is now.  It's almost painful to think about, but the angst is just right. 

This chapter felt very raw, but... I can't find the right word.  Beautiful maybe.  It is nice to see that through the anger, Ron is being mature enough to let Hermione explain and to try to work things through with her.  It was interesting that you have them both taking the blame in this chapter- glad Hermione sees it's not just Ron who is to blame. 

I have to say, I'm completely wrapped up in this.  I think my wife will be over the moon with it when I show her later. 



Author's Response:

Thank you for another fantastic review and for your compliments!  I'm so glad you're enjoying the integration of the flashbacks and the comparison between then and now.  I agree, the angst is quite high- and I'm very glad you're not finding it too much!

Thank you so much for your lovely words and for passing the fic along to your wife!  I really appreciate the support and the feedback.  :o)  *dark chocolate for you*

Reviewer: jeremyjames Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2007 02:45 PM Title: Chapter 4 - Hearing Without Understanding

See?  This is what I was talking about, as far as first person.  It's a blessing and a curse.  On the one hand, this chapter was so intense and fantastic and full of emotion.  I can't imagine being able to feel Ron's pain in the same way if it was third person.  But I wish I could hear what Harry and Hermione were saying!  I want to know what they're thinking and see their body language.  Are you going to do a companion piece with their parts in it? 

That dream was awesome and horrible!  Great writing, but i wanted it to be true.  It took me by surprise and I was surprised Hermione could come to him so quickly.  That was akiller moment though.  Great job!



Author's Response:

LOL!  Funny that you became frustrated by it so quickly.  I'm glad that you do see my point about feeling Ron's pain more, because of the intimacy inherent in first person POV.  However, I completely understand the frustration with not hearing the other perspectives. 

I actually am already doing a companion piece on my LJ, beginning about a year before this fic starts.  It's told from Hermione's POV and it will take the story from a year prior and then become current with this one.  If you'd like to read the couple chapters already completed, feel free to friend my LJ (username: risiepookie)  Otherwise, I'll probably start to upload it here once I've got at least all of the past year written, as well as the companions chapters for this fic.  Hopefully I'll upload simultaneously after that.  Thanks for the great review!  *key lime pie for you*

Reviewer: jeremyjames Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2007 02:25 PM Title: Chapter 3 - Frozen

I'm not usually a big fan of first person point of view.  I usually think it's limiting and can be frustrating to read, because we don't know what's happening with the other characters.  Having said that, though I'm sure I'll be frustrated to not get that perspective on the fic, I am really enjoying reading this fic through Ron's point of view.  It helps to be able to directly know his thoughts and feel his pain and diappointment.  Poor Ron, he's not only lost Hermione, he's balming himself for something that was probably both of their faults.  Cannot wait to see where this is headed.  It's great so far.

Author's Response: Wow, another review!  Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to leave your thoughts.  I actually really love writing in first person, though I agree with the frustrations that can arise from reading first person POV fics.  I think this fic is so emotional and so personal, it wouldn't seem right to write it from a more distant perspective.  I hope you continue to enjoy that aspect, rather than feel too limited by it!  *sugar cookies for you* 

Reviewer: jeremyjames Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2007 02:10 PM Title: Chapter 2 - Revelations

The flashbacks of the past interspersed with the current story was great.  Nice to see how they started out tender even if that's not how they are now.  The sex was hot- makes me wish I was at home with my wife.  The twist at the end was good.  I was anticipating it because I read the summary and some of the previous reviews.  But, it still hit me suddenly and I thought it was great.  Moving on to the next one!

Author's Response: Thanks again for reading and reviewing!  Glad you enjoyed the flashback scenes- they were very fun to write.  :o)  Also glad you found it hot!!  I think the twist, even when expected, seems to come out of the blue, because of its timing- glad it caught you.  Thanks again!  *pumpkin pie for you*

Reviewer: jeremyjames Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2007 01:58 PM Title: Chapter 1 - Finally Home

found this fic by looking in the featured stories.  This was the first one that caught my eye as I am a Ron/Hermione fan, but also a fan of angst.  I'm glad I clicked the link and started.  Already I can see you write well and articulate well.  I can also see that you have a good grasp of human emotion and relationships.  I'm glad you have so many chapters already uploaded.  I'll get to read a lot in one sitting! 

Thanks for writing, I thought the first chapter was great, I hope it continues to be of this caliber. 



Author's Response: Wow, thanks for such a lovely review and for clicking on my fic!  I'm so happy to have you aboard and hope you continue to enjoy the fic.  Thank you very much for your compliments and for leaving your thoughts- it's very appreciated!  *hot chocolate for you*

Reviewer: Ronsbabe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2007 03:22 AM Title: Chapter 1 - Finally Home

Ugh, this chapter makes me so angry at Harry!  Why is he acting like that?!  I know he's... well, he's something to Hermione, but still.  Does he have to mark his territory like that?  It's annoying.  Like this:

//“Hermione, my love? Come out here right now!” //

//You’re staying with us, no if’s, and’s or but’s, we won’t take no for an answer. Right, love?” Harry asked her softly.//   

He just had to say "us" and "we" and "love" and let him know from the get-go that Hermione wasn't his anymore.  Why wasn't he letting Ron know how happy he was that he was home instead of making it difficult for him to stay?  Than again, Harry just left Hermione and Ron together and trusted them to... to what?  Did he know what was going to happen?  In a few chapters you reference that Harry knew what was going to happen.  Was he giving in for Ron's sake or for Hermione's?  I don't think it was for his own, because I don't think he really wants to share her. 

Are you going to carry the outtake from the point you started at through this storyline so we can get Harry/Hermione's perspective about everything that's going on in this fic?  That would be awesome!  

Don't mind me, I'm merely sitting here and ranting about my thought and what I'm thinking about the set-up and the intriguing mix you set up right from the beginning.  

Kisses and all that jazz ~~JEN 



Author's Response:

You've gone back to read the beginning, have you?  You spoil me with your thoughts and your time, dear Jen!  I think it would be difficult for me to answer your questions without revealing stuff from upcoming chapters.  However, the answers are going to start unfolding fairly quickly in the next couple chapters, so just wait a little bit, okies? 

Thank you again for your wonderful response to my fics.  You are so fantastic!  ::big hugs::  *creme brulee for you*

Reviewer: LaLaLa123 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/12/2007 05:29 PM Title: Chapter 8 - The Question Game

Wow I Loved Plz Plz Let It Be A Trio Fic PLz Give Ginny Somebody Elsw

Author's Response: Hi Brandy!  Thank you so much for reading and leaving a review- I really appreciate it!  It's always so interesting to see what direction folks want the fic to take.  Thanks again for reading!  *strawberry shortcake for you*

Reviewer: Ronsbabe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/05/2007 12:50 AM Title: Chapter 1 - Finally Home

I've gone back to re-read again.  I can't believe how much you set up in this first chapter alone!!

I have so many questions and you've answered some already but then new ones crop up.  I think the outtakes you're doing on your LJ are helping to answer the questions as well.  

Do you know how amazing this fic is?  I know you don't cause you're too humble, but it really is and you should go back and read it yourself to see what I'm talking about.  

Kisses and all that jazz ~~Jen 



Author's Response: Hey sweets!  You are so sweet to go back and re-read/re-review again!  I must have you anxious for an update.  :o)  I'm glad to hear you're enjoying the LJ outtakes- I thought they would start to illuminate at least a few things.  ::blushing::  You are far too kind to me, and I thank you for the compliments.  I'll try to take them in.  Thanks for being such a great support to me throughout writing this!  ::hugs::  *pumpkin cheesecake for you*

Reviewer: kimsaddiction Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/04/2007 08:41 PM Title: Chapter 8 - The Question Game

Please, don't make us wait so long between updates on this story! I've never been a fan of angsty fanfiction, but this is one of my definite favorite stories, can't wait for the next chapter! 

Author's Response: Hi Kim!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing- much appreciated!  I'm glad you're enjoyed the fic, despite how angsty it is.  :o)  I've already started the next chapter, so it will definitely be along sooner than the last chapter was.  Thanks again!  *white chocolate macademia cookies for you*

You must login (register) to review.