Reviews For If a Man Answers
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: RedHeadGin Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2008 08:36 AM Title: Chapter 9 - Immersion

Yey, two chapters !  I love the closeness of Ron and Ginny, sharing their grief together. And the Weasleys... their love and all out support for Ron, understanding him, not blaming him, esp Ginny, for carrying her share of the blame.

This is a trickly situation, Ron, putting all the blame on himself. So angry with Hermione and Harry, but deep inside he knew he'll forgives them for what they did coz he still loves them both. A trio in love? At least, he's rejecting that idea because of his love for Ginny. He could perhaps live with the idea that Hermione equally loves him and Harry. Share Hermione with Harry? Perhaps. But then, if that would be the situation, it means Ginny will be out in the cold.

So it's up to Hermione to choose. If Ron and she would get back together, really start all over. then there is hope.

However, between Ginny and Harry, starting over could be quite slow since in this situation, Ginny's on the losing end. She's sharing Harry's love with Hermione, and can she accept that? She's in denial phase. Deep inside she knows that they're lovers but hoping that it's not true.

I hope you would give a good resolution between Ginny and Harry. I'd like to hear why he threw away his future and his chance of happiness with Ginny over his brotherly love for Ron - holding on to his promise to look after Hermione and later became her lover. Does his love for Ron more than his love for Ginny?

Both Harry and Ginny are weak. In canon, they're both passionate and the type who would fight for what they believe in. But here, they both easily gave up and didn't even try to have a dialogue to resolver their issues. Or confront one another.

Anyway, I have high hopes that you would resolve this tricky situation with a satisfactory, believable ending coz you are a talented writer. The images, feelings, atmosphere in your story (the angst! I love your angst), can be heartfelt by the readers. You'd make us really care for them "fictional characters" :D

Redheadgin a.k.a. Ginny88 from lj

 



Author's Response:

Hi there!  So nice to see you over here too.  :o)  Thank you very much for continuing to read and review- I really appreciate it! 

I'm so happy to hear you're enjoying the Weasleys and the closeness.  Writing the parts with Ginny are some of my favourites, which was a bit unexpected for me.  I like her character, but I didn't expect those moments to be my favourites.  I do have plans to do a bit of development for Ginny and Harry, though it's difficult to do it from Ron's POV.  I think they are definitely coming across as weaker than their canon selves because everyone is licking their wounds.  

As far as the Trio aspect is concerned, I've always been upfront about the fact that this will definitely not be turning into a Trio fic.  I love Trio fics, but that's not the plan for this one.   

Thank you so much for your thoughtful and thought-provoking review!  It's so nice to hear about the various things you are thinking about as you read the chapter and I am very flattered by your compliments.  ::hugs::  *pecan pie for you* 

Reviewer: KaL Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2008 06:32 AM Title: Chapter 9 - Immersion

I don't really know what to say.  This story is really well written but it makes me feel so sad, hopeless really.  I don't see a way out for them where everyone will be happy.  Ginny should have been with Harry taking care of Hermione not running off with other men.  Ron never should have left.  Hermione and Harry should never have slept together. 

Granted I am a Ron/Hermione fan so this may be why I am so upset with their situation, who knows.

I don't really like feel so sad after reading a fanfic, I love your stories but if I can get out of my duldrums I may have to put off reading them for a while. 



Author's Response:

Hi there! Thank you for reading and reviewing, I really appreciate it.  I'm sorry the fic is making you sad, but I think it makes sense for where we are in the fic.  We haven't gotten past anything, but have been sitting in the muck for a long time.  Also, given that it's all through Ron's eyes, I think it's natural to feel the hurt through him.

There are so many things that shouldn't have happened that did, I agree.  Now it comes down to trying to unwind everything- which I promise is coming sooner than you may think.  In my plan, I think this is the lowest we will get with these characters, so there's nowhere to go but up!  Thanks again for leaving me your thoughts!  *caramel apple for you*

Reviewer: TaMara Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2008 08:45 PM Title: Chapter 9 - Immersion

Great chapter.  I will be there for whatever you post.  I can't wait for the next chapter of this though!

Author's Response: Thanks, hon, I really appreciate the support and the encouragement.  Glad you're enjoying the fic!  After my Ron-a-Thon is finished, I'll be back with more.  Thanks again!  *german chocolate cake for you*

Reviewer: siriusnez Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2008 07:48 PM Title: Chapter 1 - Finally Home

oh my goodness, i almost peed in my pants i was soo excited to get a new chapter to this story.  i love everything about this story.  you are a great writer and have gotten these relationships down to a tee.  and i absolutely love ron and ginny in this chapter.  i can't wait for more!!!

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, your review just made me SO happy!  :o)  Thanks so much for reading and for leaving me your thoughts- I'm very happy to hear you're finding it well-written and that you are enjoying the various relationship dynamics.  Once my Ron-a-Thon fic is completed, I'll get back to working on the next chapter.  Thanks again!  *strawberry pie for you*

Reviewer: lpweasley Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2008 11:17 AM Title: Chapter 1 - Finally Home

I am so torn by this story.  You are a great writer and I love the emotions from the characters.  I hate that Herm and Harry slept together.  I can kinda understand how it happened the first time, but I can't understand why they continued it.  I owuld love to see Ron and Herm back together, but I don't know if thats possible.  Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and for taking the time to review- it's very much appreciated!  Also, thank you for your lovely compliments.  :o)  Actually, I've started to write a companion piece from Hermione's POV which will address some of your questions/concerns about the H/Hr relationship.  I hope to be able to start posting it in the not-so-distant future, so you can see what's happening on that side of the equation as well.  Thanks again for the lovely review!  *chocolate frog for you*

Reviewer: lostInThought Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/28/2008 09:32 PM Title: Chapter 1 - Finally Home

I loved reading your story! I'm a hardcore H/G and Ron/Hermione shipper, so I wasn't too crazy about reading this fic, but I'm really glad I did. What really sold me was the portrayal of Ron and Ginny's relationship. It's so hard to find writing that truly explores their relationship, and I like what you've done with them so far.

My only question to you is... do you plan on keeping up with this fic or have you abandoned it?



Author's Response:

Wow, thank you for reading and for the really lovely review!  I really appreciate it.  I know this fic is likely to push the buttons of hardcore shippers, myself included in that group, but I'm glad that you gave it a chance.  The Ron/Ginny relationship are some of my favourite parts to write.  There will be more of that in the upcoming chapters. 

And, yes, I do plan to keep writing the fic.  To be honest, I had some PC disasters that left me without access for 3 months and erased the newest chapter (without a backup).  I'm nearly finished with the newest chapter though.  I'm trying to juggle writing this, my other WIP (Wake Me), and my silent auction Ron-a-Thon fic, so it may be a while, but this is definitely NOT an abandoned fic.  Thank you for your interest and I hope it won't be too long...  *chocolate frog for you*

Reviewer: Amythis Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2008 01:32 AM Title: Chapter 8 - The Question Game

Ah, I see now, the story is far from over.  I'll probably read the rest all at once when it is.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely reviews!!!  I really, really appreciate you taking the time to read my fic and then letting me know what you thought about each chapter.  I understand about waiting until it's over- I tend to get like that with WIPs as well, though sometimes I cave and then wait in anticipation of the next installment.  ::hugs::  Thanks again!  :o)  *blackberry tart for you*

Reviewer: Amythis Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2008 12:39 AM Title: Chapter 8 - The Question Game

I would love to know what you thought!

Um, I don't know actually, since it ends on a cliffhanger.  I was hoping for Ron and Harry to talk more, but I guess that this story is more about Ron's journey so that he's ready to talk to Harry, and Hermione.  As such, it's well done but frustrating.  Did you write a sequel?



Author's Response: Yes, this chapter did end on a cliffy.  Harry, Ron, Hermione, and Ginny will all be speaking more in the coming chapters.  This actually isn't the end, but it's the last chapter I've finished.  The fic's about half-done, so you can anticipate some more development.  However, I'm glad you found it well done, even if frustrating since it's not finished yet.  I'm still working on it, so more is forthcoming.  Thank you for the awesome feedback!  *dulce de leche cake for you*

Reviewer: Amythis Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2008 12:23 AM Title: Chapter 7 - Rumination

So Ginny does know, though less than she could if she used her Legilimency.  Molly is very wise.  And good angsty!Ron.

Author's Response:

Yes, Ginny's very much in the know, but she's not forcefully intruded.  I think she knew what her limit was and didn't cross it.  Glad you're liking Molly and angsty!Ron.  Personally, he's my favourite Ron.  Thanks for another lovely review!  ::hugs::  *creme caramel for you*

Reviewer: Amythis Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2008 12:05 AM Title: Chapter 6 - A Real Homecoming

Good mix of emotions.  And I like the detail of the frying food at the end, homey and real.

Author's Response: So glad you're enjoying the emotional portrayal throughout the fic!  That makes me very happy!  :o)  I liked the idea of him napping while Molly cooked too; that felt very in-tune with how I've imagined the Burrow.  Thanks for the great comments!  *chocolate covered strawberries for you*

Reviewer: Amythis Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2008 11:46 PM Title: Chapter 5 - Memories of a Lifetime Ago

LOL, Molly will complicate things!  Actually, I had assumed that the Weasleys knew, so this definitely changes things.  And I'll be curious to see Ginny's reaction. 



Author's Response: ::nods::  I think a lot of people assumed the Weasleys had been informed of the changed relationship.  I think you'll see how that plays out a bit in the next chapter, and we'll get more of Ginny in the coming chapters.  Thanks for another great review!  *chocolate frog for you*

Reviewer: Amythis Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2008 11:36 PM Title: Chapter 4 - Hearing Without Understanding

I got a little confused about which part was a dream, but otherwise good.  I like Ron's bitter running commentary on Harry and Hermione's conversation, and how well they know their Ron.

Author's Response:

Another review!  I've been very spoiled by you!  I'm actually glad you were a little confused about what was a dream and what wasn't.  You were meant to feel that way, since it's 1st person POV and that's exactly how Ron feels throughout this segment.  Ron's commentary was fun to write, because he is kinda sarcastic and biting, so it wasn't difficult to get into that place with him.  *apple pie for you*

Reviewer: Amythis Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2008 11:27 PM Title: Chapter 3 - Frozen

Good Hermione, in-character, and the emotions still felt raw despite the passage of time.

Author's Response: Thank you again!  :o)  Glad you enjoyed the characterization of Hermione and the depth of her emotions.  Angst and grief are some of my favourite things to write, both of which were in that segment, so that was fun.  *phish food ice cream for you*

Reviewer: Amythis Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2008 11:20 PM Title: Chapter 2 - Revelations

I like Ron being both in the moment and in the past.  And I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop, for him to realise that she is involved with Harry, so I like that sad ending.

Author's Response:

Thank you again for reviewing!  It's so gratifying to hear that you're enjoying Ron- he's my absolute favourite character.  I think a lot of people were waiting for that moment as well and waiting for him to be hit with the reality of how everything is different.  Thank you for your wonderful feedback!  *shortbread for you*

Reviewer: Amythis Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2008 11:12 PM Title: Chapter 1 - Finally Home

You write jealous!Ron well.  I was surprised by the ending, as I thought that they'd all wait to talk about this in the morning.

Author's Response:

Hi there!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing- very much appreciated!  :o)  Glad you enjoyed Ron (isn't he lovely?) and were surprised.  I was hoping readers might be caught slightly off-guard by the first couple chapters.  Thanks again!  *chocolate biscuits for you*

You must login (register) to review.