Reviews For Wake Me
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ronsbabe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2007 07:18 PM Title: Chapter 7 - Unveiled

The section after going through the pensive memory was fantastic!  Having both Ginny and Harry holding Ron and letting him know that he wasn't alone was such a nice moment between the three of them.  They all so badly needed to cry and morn for the loss of their friend, even if Hermione isn't dead.  She's not dead, right?  Right?? 

I like that you show Ron as incredibly strong, but willing to be vulnerable around them.  I have the feeling that he doesn't let that side of him out in front of anybody else.  And really, it makes sense that he would get this way about Hermione, because they are only half of themselves without each other.  Well, I personally believe that the four of them (the trio plus Ginny) would not be whole without each other.  I think you manage to show that so well. 

Again, you show us the nice part of a sibling relationship.  A little playful, definitely knowing each otehr's strengths, and being proud of each other.  You seem to like Ginny, because you give her a lot of credit and show her to be incredibly strong.  She has a fire all her own and you show that with the words you use to describe her. 

*happy dance*  I'm so glad I finally decided to complete the reading of this fic.  I never would have know what I would have missed.  Wow!



Author's Response:

Wow, another one!! 

I'm so glad you enjoyed the section after the memory.  This is exactly what I was talking about with the Harry/Ron and Ron/Ginny relationships.  I think there is so much rich material there to be explored.  I love the idea that they would envelope him in their love, especially when Hermione is gone.  And, I'm sure you already know, Hermione is not dead.  But, she is going through a hell of a time! 

I think the Quad (as I call them) ends up in most of my fics, because they are all so essential to each other in my mind.  It's nice to meet someone who feels the same way! 

Thanks again for the great review!  *butter pecan ice cream for you*

Reviewer: Ronsbabe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2007 07:07 PM Title: Chapter 7 - Unveiled

The memory scene was handled so well.  Honestly, all of the scenes with the rape have been handled so well.  I usually have such a hard time reading them.  Don't get me wrong- I still had a hard time reading it.  However I thought you handled it with sensitivity and you weren't doing it for the shock value. 

I loved how you were giving both the actuality of what was happening, Ron's feelings, and Harry and Ginny's reactions.  That was wonderful.

Also, you gave us a bit of a missing moment!  The chapter that ended after the rape with Hermione passing out and Ron going back to the Ministry.  We didn't know what happened after that yet.  I thought it was really nice to see Harry comforting Ron in such a way.  Harry and Ron have been best friends for so long, it makes sense that Harry would feel comfortable to hold Ron in his time of need.  I thought your description of it was wonderful. 

I can't begin to tell you how much I loved this chapter.  I only hope these reviews give you some small idea. 



Author's Response:

Wow, another fantastic review!  I feel so spoiled by you and all of your comments!  :o)

I'm so happy to hear that the rape scene wasn't too awful for you to read.  I have said this before, but I was very worried about how it would come off in the storyline.  There was a lot happening in the penseive scene, and it's nice to hear you've received it so well! 

Yes, there was a small bit of a previously missing scene.  I feel like there is so much rich material in the Ron/Harry friendship and that they really are soulmates, in a non-romantic way- they are best friends and brothers.  I wanted to give a glimpse of the love that is shared between them as friends.  I'm so glad that you enjoyed it!

Truly, your reviews are so incredibly wonderful!!!  I am so thankful and grateful for each of them!

*hot fudge sundae for you* 

Reviewer: Ronsbabe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2007 06:56 PM Title: Chapter 7 - Unveiled

I'm going back an re-reading this chapter in smaller sections.  My first comment is about the relationship between Ron and Ginny.  So many times I think authors focus on the competition and arguing that can happen between them.  However, they were each other's first friends and entire world until Ron left for Hogwarts. 

I always rather thought they would have a playful relationship.  You have taken that idea and brought some lightness to an otherwise very difficult chapter.  The interactions feel so genuine and so familiar, like what a real brother and sister would do.  In fact, it reminded me of something I would do with my brother. 

And then having Harry just completely not understand their joke?  I thought that was priceless.  Someone who does not have siblings cannot possibly understand the odd and yet wonderful experience of sharing that kind of bond with someone.  Even if Harry does see Ron as a sibling, it's not the same. 

I loved this part.  Each time you show us Ginny, you show how respectable and necessary her character is.  I appreciate that, because there are so many Ginny-haters out there.  Well done!



Author's Response:

Gosh, can I just say how incredibly flattered and moved I am for you going through the chapter and giving such a thorough review!!!  Truly, your reviews have been such an amazing boost in feeling like my fic is making some kind of impact!

As far as the Ron/Ginny sibling relationship, I too think so many authors focus on the competitive and argumentative side of their relationship.  While there definitely is that part of their dynamic, I think there is a lot more there waiting to me explored. 

I actually don't have brothers, but I do have two sisters.  Quite of bit of the sibling dynamic I am basing off of the feelings I have when with my sisters. 

I am so glad that you saw the interactions and dynamics as genuine!  And, I agree- to a certain extent, someone who does not have siblings cannot fully understand what it is like to grow up with that relationship.  I think that people can create similar relationships in their lives, so that they are like siblings, but it is a bit different (though no less special!). 

Also, I'm very glad that my Ginny characterization is working for you, especially coming from someone who likes her.  Thanks for such a detailed review!  It made my day!

*chocolate covered strawberries for you* 

Reviewer: Ronsbabe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2007 06:43 PM Title: Chapter 7 - Unveiled

Wow...  just...  Wow!  Every chapter is more powerful than the next.  I can't leave a proper review just yet.  I need to let it all set in.  More soon, once I pick my jaw up off the ground.

Author's Response:

Hi there again!  Thank you so much for your words- they have made so many smiles come to my face!  I really appreciate you taking the time to read and to think about it, and then to review.  It's amazing to me to have touched a reader enough to do that.  Thanks again so much!

*Hershey's dark chocolate kisses for you*

Reviewer: spidergirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/28/2007 04:30 PM Title: Chapter 8 - Slipping Further Away

Another amazing chapter! Really liked the idea of Hermione could get psicologic help before getting her letter to Hogwarts :)

I really love your Ron :D



Author's Response:

Oh, M, I am so humbled and grateful for all of your reviews!  I, too, love the idea that Hermione's parents might have tried to get her some therapy before Hogwarts, because she was probably a bit odd or awkward before find out about being a witch.  ::hugs::  Thanks again!!

*dark chocolate bar for you*

Reviewer: Ronsbabe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/27/2007 09:05 PM Title: Chapter 6 - Panic Attack

I downloaded this chapter so I could read it again before the next chapter.  I'm just speechless.  Wow.  Even on the second read-through, I'm amazed at all of the smaller details you've managed to get in here that are so Hermione!  Beautiful!

Author's Response:

Wow, I feel so complimented by your comment of saving it to read a second time.  Thanks for taking the time to let me know your thoughts again!!  ::hugs::

*Espresso Chip ice cream for you*

Reviewer: spidergirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/27/2007 12:43 AM Title: Chapter 7 - Unveiled

Wow! What a great chapter!

The Memory scene was so well done, I had my heart broken for Hermione and also for Ron!

Great job! :D



Author's Response:

Hi M!  Thanks again for reading and reviewing!  ::hugs you::  I'm so glad that the memory scene worked for you- it was a bit hard for me to relive it and write those moments again.  Thanks for your feedback!

*mint chocolate chip ice cream for you*

Reviewer: Leviathan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2007 02:24 PM Title: Chapter 9 - Barely Breathing

Oh, this hurts, so, so much.

It's going to be a long, hard road for Hermione to come back from this... But with Friends and love like Harry and Ginny and Ron, I'm confident she will.


Author's Response:

Hi honey!  Squee for your review!  Thanks so much for your thoughts, as always!  Yes, it's going to be a very long road to recovery for all involved, but it's not impossible and they'll all make it. Thanks again!

*chocolate satin pie for you*

Reviewer: ioli Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2007 09:05 AM Title: Chapter 9 - Barely Breathing

10 stars for you and a trip to my favorites..

 



Author's Response:

Oh, thanks so much!  It's lovely to have you reading my fic.  :o)  I really appreciate it! 

*angelfood cake for you*

Reviewer: ktmarsh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2007 08:03 AM Title: Chapter 9 - Barely Breathing

Wow...just wow. What an intense chapter. So much emotion throughout.


“We haven’t kissed, we haven’t made love yet. You haven’t married me or made me a daddy

This line was beautiful! So sweet and so perfectly Ron.

Update soon...you can't leave on a cliffhanger such as this! :-) 



Author's Response:

Hi Karimah!  It's so nice to hear from you- thanks again for reading and reviewing!  Honestly, it's so lovely to get your thoughts. 

Ugh, I know this was a horrible cliffy.  Unfortunately, I've had some very pressing health porblems lately and was in bed (on doctor's orders) for two weeks, and I'm just really now getting to respond to all of these comments and start on the next chapter!  An update is probably at least a couple weeks away, but I'm working on it!  :o)

*creme brulee for you*

Reviewer: Ronsbabe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2007 08:16 PM Title: Chapter 6 - Panic Attack

Oh, god, poor Hermione!  I can't even begin to describe how hard this chapter hit me or how much I can relate to her in this story.  Her voice comes out so strongly and so in character.  Really well done.  I can only hope that Ron will be able to get her out of there in the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Hi!  Oh, I'm sorry it hit you so hard and that you may have lived through something that makes you relate.  I certainly hope by the ending of this story I have written something that helps to give some catharsis to you.  Thank you for the comments about Hermione's voice and character, it's very appreciated.  Unfortunately, Hermione will not get out in the next chapter, but keep reading- change is coming!

*bread pudding for you*

Reviewer: Ronsbabe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2007 07:57 PM Title: Chapter 5- Bound

I really like the alternating points of view that you are using in this story.  And oh my god!  Poor Hermione and then poor Ron having to watch everything she was going through!!  I have the feeling it will be very hard for them to recover from this.

Author's Response:

Hi there again- thanks so much for all of your reviews.  I'm glad you are enjoying the alternating POVs- I was a bit worried that some readers would dislike that, so I'm happy it's working for you.  Yes, this will be really hard to recover from, and to be honest, this is not the worst yet- but they will get there eventually!

*rice pudding for you*

Reviewer: spidergirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2007 04:59 PM Title: Chapter 6 - Panic Attack

That´s natural Hr feeling confuse because her feelings and emotions in rape´s moment.Your explanations were great: I know your job is related with psicology,right? :)

This is really an amazing story!

Reading more soon :D



Author's Response: I'm seeing double again!  ::laughs::  Thanks again for the review honey!  ::hugs::

Reviewer: spidergirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2007 04:58 PM Title: Chapter 6 - Panic Attack

That´s natural Hr feeling confuse because her feelings and emotions in rape´s moment.Your explanations were great: I know your job is related with psicology,right? :)

This is really an amazing story!

Reading more soon :D



Author's Response:

Hi hon- I'm so glad you've had the chance to read through it...  your opinion really means a lot to me!  Yes, I have seen Hermione's reaction in several actual cases that I have worked with in my job as a clinical psychologist (which you already knew by the time I responded to this).  It's an understandable reaction, but so painful.  I'm glad it didn't scare you off. 

*sweet fried plantains for you*

Reviewer: spidergirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2007 04:51 PM Title: Chapter 5- Bound

You did an excelent job in this chapter!

The R/Hr conection is great and yet so intriguing because it seems it´s a spell that doesnt work well yet...

My poor Ron and Hermione....:(

This is so good that I´m hooked! :D



Author's Response: I'm seeing double!  hehe.  Thanks again honey!  ::hugs::

You must login (register) to review.